Dec. 3, 2017.

Remember it.

Because on that day the selection process for the College Football Playoff was forever changed.

Whether or not it changed for the good depends on where you sit.

The 13-member selection committee made what was, by far, its most controversial decision in the four-year history of the playoff when it chose Alabama (11-1), a non-conference champion, over Big Ten conference winner Ohio State (11-2) for the fourth and final spot in the playoffs.

And in doing so, the committee made some history:

 The rest of this article is available to subscribers only – to become a subscriber click here.